2018 Prize



2018 Prize Winners

There were 17 winning projects, organisations and scientists from nine countries, plus one commended, as well as a winner of the Andrew Tyler Award.

The winners share a total prize fund of £330,000.

See all of the Winners here.




The 2018 Lush Prize Conference was held in Berlin on Friday 16th November.

The theme of the conference this year was:
‘Is there an end in sight for animal testing? Can Organ-on-a-Chip replace animal use in safety testing with advanced human focused approaches?’

We have audio recordings of the main sessions and keynote speakers, and most of the presentations will be available to download in PDF format – more about the Lush Prize conference



Award Categories

Each category normally awards £50,000 to one (or possibly two) projects.

The Young Researcher category funding up to fifteen scientists, with a total prize fund of £150,000. In order to support more young scientists in parts of the world where animal-free science is not so well accepted, we have three regional categories of Young Researcher Award, each providing selected scientists with £10,000 to further their career in non-animal testing:

Young Researcher Asia – 5 awards
Young Researcher Americas – 5 awards
Young Researcher Rest of the World – 5 awards


Andrew Tyler Award

In 2017 we added a new annual award for outstanding contribution towards ending animal testing. The non-financial prize is named after Andrew Tyler, former director of Animal Aid and a founding Lush Prize judge.


2018 Shortlist

This year 56 projects and scientists from 17 countries  made it through to the final judging process. This year’s prize saw its first entrants from Lebanon, Sri Lanka and Turkey.

See the full list of shortlisted nominees here.



For the 2018 panel of judges, we were delighted to welcome back six distinguished scientists and campaigners who served in previous years. We also have previous winner Bianca Marigliani as our new ‘Young Researcher Judge’, and a Lush customer and Lush staff member.


Email updates

Stay in touch with our latest news by signing up for occasional email updates about the Prize: