Science Prize Winners 2013

Two winners shared £50,000 of prize money for their work in 21st Century Toxicology research.





QSAR and Molecular Modelling Group, Liverpool John Moores University, UK

For their work developing computational alternatives to animal testing to predict the effects of chemicals.

Award £25,000

Accepted by Dr Steve Enoch, QSAR and Molecular Modelling Group.





ZoeThe Lung & Particles Research Group, Cardiff University, UK

For their work developing non-animal replacement models of the human respiratory system for inhalation toxicology applications.

Award £25,000

Accepted by Zoë Prytherch, in vitro toxicologist for the LPRG.





Also short-listed in 2013

Paul Jennings, Innsbruck Medical University – Austria
For his work improving non-animal based predictive models for human drug and chemical safety.

In Vitro/Placental Group, University of Copenhagen – Denmark
For their research into maternal and foetal exposures to environmental risks and qualifying animal-free toxicology.

Fozia Noor, Saarland University – Germany
For her work developing in vitro models and methods as alternatives to animal testing.

Alcyomics Ltd – UK
For their work developing a reliable and robust method for safety testing as an alternative to animal models.

In Vitro Toxicology Group, Swansea College of Medicine – UK
For their work promoting amendments to genotoxicity testing regulations leading to better in vitro tests and fewer animal tests.

Waters Research Group, University of Huddersfield – UK
For continuing work developing alternatives to animal testing.

Kirkstall Ltd- UK
For their work developing and promoting technologies that enable animal-free study of biological systems.

Andrew Nelson, University of Leeds – UK
For his work in non-animal toxicology technology development.

Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing (CAAT) – USA
For their work developing and implementing a classical test system for animal-free toxicology methods.